Friday, July 10, 2015

13 Signatories

13 Signatories The Committee of Safety, formally the Citizen's Committee of Public Safety, was a 13-member group also known as the Annexation Club; they started in 1887 as the Hawaiian League. In June 1887, the Hawaiian League used the Rifles to force King Kalākaua to enact a new constitution. Later the Committee wrote to John L Stevens, American Minister, stating, “the public safety is menaced and lives and property are in peril, and we appeal to you and the United States forces at your command for assistance.” The Committee of Safety was made up of 6-Hawaiian citizens (naturalized or by birth (American parentage;)) 5-Americans, 1-Englishman and 1-German.

Click link below for more images and information:

No comments:

Post a Comment