Saturday, October 10, 2015

Land Divisions

Land Divisions In discussing ancient land divisions, we typically hear of Mokupuni (island,) Moku (district,) Ahupuaʻa (generally watershed units) and ʻIli (strips of land.) Kalana and ʻOkana are often less-heard-of land divisions. Land Divisions include, generally: Mokupuni - The island groups (such as our current county system;) Moku - The major districts of each individual island; Kalana - The significant divisions within each Moku’ ʻOkana – Division of the Moku or Kalana; Ahupua‘a - Individual watershed regions within each Kalana; and ʻIli - functional subdivisions of an Ahupua‘a.

Click link below for more images and information:

No comments:

Post a Comment